Electoral College Confirms Joe Biden As Winner Of 2020 Election


The Electoral College has finally cast their ballots for the 2020 election, confirming Joe Biden as the winner and next president of the United States.

This process is mostly ceremonial, as members of the college are merely confirming the votes that were cast in their jurisdictions, but there have been rare occasions in the past where the college has broken from its constituents in certain areas to overturn the popular election results.

Trump and his followers were hanging on to the hope that the electoral college would help him in his challenge, but it now appears that won’t be happening.

Biden has now far surpassed the 270 electoral votes needed to win the election, and will end up with a total of 306 electoral votes, while Trump will end up with a total of 232.

The former vice president won the popular vote by an even more substantial margin of more than 7 million votes.

Technically, there is still one more step to go before the results are finalized. On January 6th, Congress is scheduled to inspect and approve the Electoral College votes.

This is also usually nothing more than a ceremonial event, but this year with the election so contentious, there is a small chance that some objections can be raised by a member of the House or Senate.

Although, no Republican has yet gone on record to say that they will challenge the electoral results.

Sen. John Thune, the second-highest-ranking Republican in Senate leadership dismissed the idea of a challenge of the electoral results, saying that if it happens it would just be “an opportunity for people to vent.”

“It’s their prerogative. It’s allowed for in the Constitution, but it’s not going anywhere,” Thune said.

Still despite all this, Trump continues to contest the results, and has tweeted saying that he lost in multiple states only because of fraudulent votes.

Last week, 106 house Republicans filed a brief with the Supreme Court demanding to have the election results overturned, but the move was ultimately rejected by the court.

Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio, Rep. Louie Gohmert of Texas, Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida, Rep. Greg Gianforte of Montana, and Rep. Lee Zeldin of New York, are among the congressman who signed the brief.

As the results hang in the balance, civil unrest has spread throughout the country.

Earlier this week, for the second time during Trump’s term in office, “#civilwar” was trending on Twitter with comments voicing concern about the intense political climate surrounding the contested 2020 election.

Previous Article

Nursing Student Accidentally Records Moment She Realized She Had COV-Symptoms

Next Article

NJ Gym Owner Faces Over $1 Million In Fines For Refusing Lockdown

Related Posts